RSS

Eat Your Colors

01 Apr

I have been so addicted lately to this amazingly colorful broccoli/cabbage/carrot slaw with a spicy almond-soy sauce dressing.  I use it in wraps or mixed with brown or wild rice or quinoa.  Or I just shove it in my mouth by the chopstickful (that’s a word, right?).  It’s great cold, or at room temp, or heated.  Sometimes I swap out the shredded broccoli stems for actual broccoli florets.  Anyhow, I hope you make some and I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Shred up some red cabbage and carrots in your food processor (or, this is great practice for your knife skills…or fine, you could use a box grater).  Also, broccoli stems!  Did you know they are edible?  It’s true!  Chop off the florets and save for another time, snap off any loose leaves and little branches, cut off the ragged end, and then use a vegetable peeler to shave off the tough outer layer.  You can use the tender insides in a myriad of ways – dice it up and toss it in a stir-fry, cut into chunks and serve as crudités with dip, or shred it up for this beautiful slaw!

Use a whisk to bring together some almond butter, lemon or lime juice, soy sauce and sriracha.  How much of each?  I don’t know, it’s totally to your liking!  I generally end up with about 2 cups of grated veggie goodness, and for that amount I whip together about ½ Tablespoon almond butter, the juice of half a lemon, and 1-2 teaspoons each of soy sauce and sriracha.  You can thin it out with a little splash of water if you prefer your dressing runnier, or add more almond butter if you want a thicker, creamier dressing.  It’s totally up to you!  Don’t have almond butter?  Use peanut butter!  Or tahini!  Yum!

Go!  Have fun!  Play with your food!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 01.Apr.2011 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Eat Your Colors

  1. Kimberly

    02.Apr.2011 at 10.03am

    Oooh that sounds super delicious. I bet you could douse all kinds of things with that awesome-sounding sauce. Yesterday I scrounged around for lunch and came up with black beans and brown rice, sauteed veggies (mushrooms, beet greens, kale, green beans, green pepper), bits of candied smoked salmon and topped it all with a fried egg and a healthy dose of sriracha. Perhaps a tad on the heartier side than your mix, and delicious!

     
  2. runnersdelight

    04.Apr.2011 at 10.20am

    Oh golly. I want to be inspired. I’m scared though…I still can’t get kale chips right. You make it sound so easy and even – gasp – FUN!
    Maybe later this week…

     
  3. John Bingham

    04.Apr.2011 at 7.56pm

    It’s missing…………….mmmmmmmmmmmmmm….MEAT!

    …………………………………………………Hahahahahahahahahaha!

     

Leave a Reply

